منع سكري الحمل

لسوء الحظ ، لا يمكن دائمًا تجنب سكري الحمل. حتى إذا كان وزنك صحيًا ، ركض في سباقات الماراثون وتجنب جميع الأطعمة المصنعة ، فقد ينتهي بك الحال بتشخيص الإصابة بسكري الحمل.

الأشياء الرئيسية التي تزيد من خطر إصابتك بسكري الحمل هي:

  • تاريخ عائلي من داء السكري من النوع 2
  • خلفيات عرقية معينة ، بما في ذلك السكان الأصليين أو سكان جزر مضيق توريس أو هندي أو فيتنامي أو صيني أو شرق أوسني أو بولينيزي
  • الإصابة بسكري الحمل في حالات الحمل السابقة
  • أن تكون فوق نطاق الوزن الصحي
  • لديك متلازمة المبيض المتعدد الكيسات
  • يجري أكثر من 35
  • ولادة جنين ميت أو أسباب وفيات حديثي الولادة غير مفسرة أو أنجبت طفلًا كبيرًا من قبل
  • بعض أنواع الأدوية المضادة للذهان أو الستيرويد

معظم هذه الأشياء لا يمكن تغييرها. ومع ذلك ، من الجيد معرفة أيها يؤثر عليك حتى تتمكن من التركيز على الأشياء التي تتحكم فيها. إذا كنت تخططين للحمل ، فمن الجيد أن تتحدثي مع طبيبك حول خطر الإصابة بسكري الحمل. يمكنهم إرشادك إلى كيفية منعه في وضعك الفردي.

منع سكري الحمل من خلال الوزن الصحي

إذا كنت تعاني من زيادة الوزن ، فمن الجيد محاولة فقدان بعض الوزن قبل الحمل. سيقلل هذا بشكل كبير من خطر إصابتك بسكري الحمل. يمكنك القيام بذلك من خلال إجراء تغييرات على الأطعمة التي تتناولها ، وممارسة المزيد من النشاط البدني.

إذا كنت قد أصبحت حاملاً بالفعل وكنت تعاني من زيادة الوزن فلا بأس بذلك. لا تحاولي خسارة الوزن أثناء الحمل. هذا ليس جيدًا لك أو لطفلك. من المهم محاولة الحفاظ على زيادة الوزن أثناء الحمل ضمن نطاق صحي. يمكن أن يساعدك طبيبك العام في معرفة مقدار زيادة الوزن أثناء الحمل الأفضل لك.

إن تجنب زيادة الوزن الزائد ، خاصة في الأثلوثين الأولين ، سيقلل بشكل كبير من خطر الإصابة بمرض سكري الحمل.

للحصول على نصيحة مخصصة بشأن الأكل الصحي أثناء الحمل ، قد تجد أنه من المفيد التحدث إلى اختصاصي تغذية. يمكنك البحث عن اختصاصي تغذية محلي هنا أو اتصل بخط المساعدة الخاص بنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول الوقاية من سكري الحمل.

لقد أصبت بسكري الحمل من قبل؟ هل سأحصل عليه مرة أخرى؟

إذا كنت مصابًا بداء سكري الحمل في فترة سابقة للحمل ، تقترح الدراسات أنك أكثر عرضة بنسبة 30-60٪ للتشخيص في الحمل المستقبلي. من الجيد أن ترى طبيبك العام ليتم فحصه بحثًا عن داء السكري من النوع 2 قبل الحمل للمرة الثانية.

عندما تحملين مرة أخرى ، قد يطلب منك طبيبك البدء في مراقبة مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم حتى قبل إجراء اختبار تحمل الجلوكوز عن طريق الفم (OGTT). إن OGTT هو المكان الذي تشرب فيه المشروبات السكرية وإجراء اختبار الدم. ليس من غير المألوف أن يقدم لك طبيبك اختبار OGTT مبكرًا في حوالي 12-16 أسبوعًا ، ثم مرة أخرى في حوالي 26 أسبوعًا.

ليس كل من يعاني من سكري الحمل في حملهم الأول سيحصل على تشخيص في المرة الثانية. قد تستمتع بهذا بريد من زوي فوستر بليك التي كانت مصابة بسكري الحمل والتهاب العظم الناجم عن الحمل في حملها الأول - ولكن ليس الثاني.

الإصابة بسكري الحمل مرة ثانية

إذا تم تشخيصك للمرة الثانية فقد يكون الأمر مزعجًا للغاية. سكري الحمل هو شيء إضافي يجب عليك مواجهته بعد مطاردتك بعد ولادتك الأولى ، والتعامل مع العمل وأي شيء آخر يلقي عليك بالحياة.

حاول أن تظل إيجابيًا - على الجانب الإيجابي لديك خبرة. أنت تعرف بالفعل كيفية إدارة الاختبار ، وربما الأطعمة التي يجب تجنبها للحفاظ على مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم في الهدف. قد تحصل أيضًا على عمليات مسح إضافية للتحقق من الدوب الخاص بك - وهي بطانة فضية واحدة!

انضم إلى مجتمعنا الذي يضم أكثر من 45,000 شخص مصاب بداء السكري

Preventing gestational diabetes

Unfortunately, gestational diabetes can’t always be avoided. Even if you are a healthy weight, run marathons and steer clear of all processed foods you could still end up being diagnosed with gestational diabetes.

The main things that increase your risk of developing gestational diabetes are:

  • A family history of type 2 diabetes
  • Certain ethnic backgrounds, including Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander, Indian, Vietnamese, Chinese, Middle Eastern or Polynesian
  • Having gestational diabetes in previous pregnancies
  • Being above the healthy weight range
  • Have Polycystic Ovary Syndrome
  • Being over 35
  • Unexplained stillbirth or neonatal deaths or having previously given birth to a very large baby
  • Some types of anti-psychotic or steroid medications

Most of these things can’t be changed. However, it’s good to know which ones affect you so that you can focus on the things that are in your control. If you’re planning a pregnancy, it’s a good idea to chat with your GP about your risk of gestational diabetes. They can guide you with how to prevent it in your individual situation.

Preventing gestational diabetes through healthy weight

If you are overweight, it is a good idea to try to lose some weight before falling pregnant. This will greatly reduce your risk of being diagnosed with gestational diabetes. You can do this through making changes to the foods you eat, and by doing more physical activity.

If you have fallen pregnant already and you are overweight that’s okay. Don’t try and lose weight during pregnancy. This isn’t good for you or your baby. It is important though to try and keep your pregnancy weight gain within a healthy range. Your GP can help you work out how much weight gain during pregnancy is best for you.

Avoiding too much extra weight gain, especially in the first two trimesters will greatly reduce your risk of being diagnosed with gestational diabetes.

For tailored advice on healthy eating in pregnancy you may find it useful to speak to a dietitian. You can search for a local dietitian here or give our helpline a call for more information on preventing gestational diabetes.

 I’ve had gestational diabetes before? Will I get it again?

If you had gestational diabetes in an earlier pregnancy, studies suggest you are 30-60% more likely to be diagnosed in a future pregnancy. It is a good idea to see your GP to be checked for type 2 diabetes before becoming pregnant a second time.

When you do fall pregnant again, your GP might ask you to start monitoring your blood glucose levels even before you have had the oral glucose tolerance test (OGTT). The OGTT is where you drink the sugary drink and have a blood test. It is not uncommon for your GP to offer you an early OGTT test at around 12-16 weeks, and then again at around 26 weeks.

Not everyone who experiences gestational diabetes in their first pregnancy will get a diagnosis the second time around. You might enjoy this post from Zoe Foster Blake who had gestational diabetes and pregnancy-induced osteitis pubis in her first pregnancy – but not her second.

 Having gestational diabetes a second time

If you do get diagnosed for a second time it can be very upsetting. Gestational diabetes is an extra thing to carry on top of chasing around after your first born, coping with work and whatever else life throws at you.

Try to stay positive – on the plus side you have experience. You already know how to manage the testing, and potentially what foods to avoid to keep your blood glucose levels in target. You may also get extra scans to check on your bub – which is one silver lining!

Join our community of over 45,000 people living with diabetes

ArabicChinese (Simplified)EnglishGreekHindiItalianSpanishVietnamese