ما هو مرض السكري؟

إذا كان مستوى الجلوكوز في الدم أعلى من الطبيعي ولكنه ليس مرتفعًا بما يكفي لتشخيصه على أنه مرض السكري من النوع 2 ، فقد تكون لديك حالة تسمى مرحلة ما قبل السكري. هذا يعني أن الأنسولين في جسمك لا يعمل بشكل فعال.

يُعرف ما قبل مرض السكري أيضًا بضعف تحمل الجلوكوز أو ضعف الجلوكوز أثناء الصوم أو مقاومة الأنسولين. تشير التقديرات إلى أن مليوني أسترالي يعيشون حاليًا مع مرض السكري.

ما هي المخاطر المصاحبة لمرض السكري؟

يمكن أن يزيد ما قبل السكري من خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية (القلب والأوعية الدموية) ، والتي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى النوبات القلبية والسكتة الدماغية.

إذا تُرك دون علاج ، يمكن أن يتطور مرض ما قبل السكري إلى مرض السكري من النوع 2 في غضون خمس إلى 10 سنوات. ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن يساعدك اتباع أسلوب حياة صحي في إدارة ما قبل مرض السكري وتقليل خطر إصابتك بمرض السكري من النوع 2 - لذا كلما اكتشفت مبكرًا ، كان ذلك أفضل.

التشخيص

يتم تشخيص داء السكري من خلال اختبار تحمل الجلوكوز عن طريق الفم (OGTT). يمكن لطبيبك طلب هذا الاختبار البسيط ويمكنك إجراؤه في مختبر الأمراض. إذا كنت تعتقد أنك قد تكون عرضة لخطر الإصابة بمرض السكري المسبق ، فتحدث مع طبيبك في أقرب وقت ممكن.

انضم إلى مجتمعنا الذي يضم أكثر من 45,000 شخص مصاب بداء السكري

What is pre-diabetes?

If your blood glucose level is higher than normal but not high enough to be diagnosed as type 2 diabetes, you may have a condition called pre-diabetes. This means your body’s insulin is not working effectively.

Pre-diabetes is also known as impaired glucose tolerance, impaired fasting glucose or insulin resistance. It’s estimated that two million Australians are currently living with pre-diabetes.

What are the risks associated with pre-diabetes?

Pre-diabetes can increase your risk of cardiovascular (heart and blood vessel) disease, which can lead to heart attack and stroke.

Left untreated, pre-diabetes can develop into type 2 diabetes within five to 10 years. However, leading a healthy lifestyle can help you manage pre-diabetes and reduce your risk of developing type 2 diabetes – so the earlier you find out, the better.

Diagnosis

Pre-diabetes is diagnosed with an oral glucose tolerance test (OGTT). Your doctor can order this simple test and you can have it at a pathology laboratory. If you think you may be at risk of pre-diabetes, talk to your doctor about it as soon as possible.

Join our community of over 45,000 people living with diabetes

ArabicChinese (Simplified)EnglishGreekHindiItalianSpanishVietnamese