ما هو نوع مرض السكري شنومك؟

إذا كنت مصابًا بداء السكري من النوع 2 ، فهذا يعني أن البنكرياس لم يعد ينتج ما يكفي من الأنسولين ، أو أن الأنسولين الذي تنتجه لا يعمل بشكل فعال (أصبح جسمك مقاومًا).

مرض السكري من النوع 2 هو حالة مزمنة تتطور على مدى سنوات. عندما يصبح جسمك مقاومًا للأنسولين ، سيعمل البنكرياس بجد وأصعب لإنتاج المزيد من الأنسولين حتى يتمكن من معالجة الجلوكوز في مجرى الدم. مع مرور الوقت ، يمكن أن تتلف الخلايا في البنكرياس ، بينما تستمر مقاومة جسمك للأنسولين في النمو.

وهذا يعني أن مرض السكري من النوع 2 هو حالة تقدمية. مع مرور الوقت ، قد تحتاج إلى دواء ، وفي بعض الحالات إلى الأنسولين ، لإدارة مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم.

ما الذي يسبب مرض السكري من النوع 2؟

هناك عدد من عوامل الخطر لمرض السكري من النوع 2 بما في ذلك وجود أفراد الأسرة المصابين بداء السكري وخلفيتك الثقافية وقيادة نمط حياة غير صحي.

يمكن أن تستغرق أعراض مرض السكري من النوع 2 وقتًا طويلاً للظهور ، مما يعني أنك قد تعيش معه لفترة طويلة قبل أن يتم تشخيصك. يتطور عادة لدى الأشخاص الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 45 عامًا ، على الرغم من أنه أصبح شائعًا بشكل متزايد في الشباب.

يمكن أن يساعدك النشاط البدني المنتظم واتباع خطة الأكل الصحي وإجراء فحوصات صحية منتظمة على تقليل خطر الإصابة بمرض السكري من النوع 2. إذا تم تشخيصك بالفعل ، يمكن أن تساعدك هذه التدابير أيضًا على العيش جيدًا مع مرض السكري وتقليل خطر الإصابة بمضاعفات.

تحقق من سهولة الاستخدام لدينا أداة التقييم عبر الإنترنت لمعرفة ما إذا كنت معرضًا لخطر الإصابة بداء السكري من النوع 2.

لمعرفة المزيد ، اقرأ صحيفة الحقائق لدينا ، فهم مرض السكري من النوع 2.

هل تحتاج للمساعدة او للنصيحة؟

إذا كنت ترغب في الحصول على مزيد من المعلومات أو الإرشادات حول التعايش مع مرض السكري من النوع 2 ، فتحدث إلى أحد أعضاء فريق الرعاية الصحية لمرض السكر لديك أو اتصل بخط مساعدة مرضى السكري NSW و ACT على 1300 342 238 واطلب التحدث إلى مربي مرض السكري.

انضم إلى مجتمعنا الذي يضم أكثر من 45,000 شخص مصاب بداء السكري

What is type 2 diabetes?

If you have type 2 diabetes it means your pancreas is no longer producing enough insulin, or the insulin you are producing is not working effectively (your body has become resistant).

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic condition that develops over a period of years. As your body becomes resistant to insulin your pancreas will work harder and harder to produce more insulin so it can process the glucose in your bloodstream. Over time the cells in your pancreas can become worn out, while your body’s resistance to insulin continues to grow.

This means that type 2 diabetes is a progressive condition. Over time you may need medication, and in some cases insulin, to manage your blood glucose levels.

What causes type 2 diabetes?

There are a number of risk factors for type 2 diabetes including having family members with diabetes, your cultural background and leading an unhealthy lifestyle.

The symptoms of type 2 diabetes can take a very long time to appear, which means you could be living with it for a long time before you are diagnosed. It usually develops in people over the age of 45, although it is becoming increasingly common in younger people.

Regular physical activity, following a healthy eating plan and having regular health checks can help you reduce your risk of developing type 2 diabetes. If you have already been diagnosed, these measures can also help you to live well with diabetes and reduce the risk of developing complications.

Check out our easy to use online assessment tool to see if you’re at risk for type 2 diabetes.

To find out more read our factsheet, understanding type 2 diabetes.

Need help or advice?

If you’d like more information or guidance about living with type 2 diabetes, speak to a member of your diabetes healthcare team or contact the Diabetes NSW & ACT Helpline on 1300 342 238 and ask to speak to a diabetes educator.

Join our community of over 45,000 people living with diabetes

ArabicChinese (Simplified)EnglishGreekHindiItalianSpanishVietnamese