ما هو مرض السكري؟

داء السكري هو حالة مزمنة تؤثر على طريقة معالجة الجسم لسكر الدم المعروف باسم الجلوكوز. لكي يعمل جسمك بشكل صحيح ، تحتاج إلى الحفاظ على مستوى صحي للجلوكوز في الدم.

الجلوكوز هو مصدر الطاقة الرئيسي لجسمك. يأتي من الأطعمة الكربوهيدراتية التي تتناولها ، مثل الخبز والمعكرونة والأرز والحبوب والفواكه والخضروات النشوية والحليب واللبن. عندما تتناول هذه الأطعمة ، يحمل مجرى الدم الجلوكوز حول جسمك ، حيث تحوله خلاياك إلى طاقة.

لكسر الجلوكوز حتى يتمكن من دخول خلاياك ، يحتاج جسمك إلى الأنسولين ، وهو هرمون ينتج في البنكرياس. إذا كنت مصابًا بداء السكري ، فهذا يعني أن البنكرياس يصنع القليل جدًا من الأنسولين ، أو لا يوجد على الإطلاق. سيبقى الجلوكوز الذي تتناوله في الدم بدلاً من تحويله إلى طاقة.

يمكن أن يكون لارتفاع مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم تأثيرات قصيرة وطويلة المدى على جسمك ، مما قد يتسبب في تلف القلب والدماغ والكليتين والعينين والقدمين.

أنواع مرض السكري

هناك ثلاثة أنواع رئيسية من مرض السكري: النوع 1 والنوع 2 والسكري الحملي.

السكري من النوع 1 هو مرض مناعي ذاتي. إذا كنت مصابًا بداء السكري من النوع 1 ، فهذا يعني أن البنكرياس لم يعد ينتج الأنسولين الذي تحتاجه. هذا يعني أنك ستحتاج إلى مراقبة مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم بانتظام وحقن الأنسولين أو استخدام مضخة الأنسولين للحفاظ على هذه المستويات في نطاق صحي.

مرض السكري من النوع 1 هو أحد أكثر حالات الطفولة المزمنة شيوعًا في الدول المتقدمة مثل أستراليا. غالبًا ما يتم تشخيصه في مرحلة الطفولة ، ولكن يمكن أن يتطور في أي عمر.

إذا كان لديك 2 داء السكري من النوعهذا يعني أن البنكرياس لا ينتج كمية كافية من الأنسولين أو الأنسولين الذي تنتجه لا يعمل بشكل فعال. من خلال النشاط البدني المنتظم ، وخطة الأكل الصحية ، والفحوصات الصحية المنتظمة ، يمكنك إدارة مرض السكري الخاص بك للعيش بشكل جيد.

مرض السكري من النوع 2 هو حالة تقدمية. مع مرور الوقت ، قد تحتاج إلى دواء ، وفي بعض الحالات إلى الأنسولين ، لإدارة مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم.

سكري الحملحالة قد تصاب بها أثناء الحمل. سيتم تشخيصه عن طريق فحص الدم واختبار تحمل الجلوكوز عن طريق الفم عندما تكونين بين 24 و 28 أسبوعًا من الحمل. يمكن إدارة سكري الحمل عن طريق النظام الغذائي وممارسة الرياضة ، على الرغم من أن بعض النساء قد يحتاجن إلى الأدوية أو الأنسولين حتى ولادة الطفل.

عادة ما يختفي سكري الحمل بعد الولادة ، على الرغم من أنه قد يزيد من احتمال إصابتك بداء السكري من النوع 2 في وقت لاحق من الحياة.

ربما سمعت عن ما قبل السكري. إذا تم تشخيص إصابتك بمرض السكري المسبق ، فهذا يعني أن مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم ومستويات الأنسولين أعلى من المعتاد - ولكنها ليست مرتفعة بما يكفي لتشخيص مرض السكري من النوع 2. يمكن أن يساعد إجراء تغييرات في نمط الحياة في إبطاء تقدم مرحلة ما قبل مرض السكري إلى مرض السكري من النوع 2.

انضم إلى مجتمعنا الذي يضم أكثر من 45,000 شخص مصاب بداء السكري

What is diabetes?

Diabetes is a chronic condition that affects the way the body processes blood sugar known as glucose. For your body to work properly, you need to maintain a healthy level of glucose in your blood.

Glucose is your body’s main source of energy. It comes from the carbohydrate foods you eat, such as bread, pasta, rice, cereals, fruits, starchy vegetables, milk and yoghurt. When you eat these foods, your blood stream carries the glucose around your body, where your cells convert it into energy.

To break down the glucose so it can enter your cells, your body needs insulin, a hormone produced in your pancreas. If you have diabetes, it means your pancreas makes too little insulin, or none at all. The glucose you eat will stay in your blood instead of being turned into energy.

High levels of glucose in your blood can have short- and long-term effects on your body, possibly causing damage to your heart, brain, kidneys, eyes and feet.

Types of diabetes

There are three main types of diabetes: type 1, type 2 and gestational diabetes.

Type 1 diabetes is an autoimmune disease. If you have type 1 diabetes it means your pancreas no longer produces the insulin you need. This means you will need to regularly monitor your blood glucose levels and either inject insulin or use an insulin pump to keep those levels within a healthy range.

Type 1 diabetes is one of the most common chronic childhood conditions in developed nations like Australia. It is often diagnosed in childhood, but can develop at any age.

If you have type 2 diabetes, it means your pancreas is not producing enough insulin or the insulin you are producing is not working effectively. With regular physical activity, a healthy eating plan, and regular health checks, you can manage your diabetes to live well.

Type 2 Diabetes is a progressive condition. Over time you may need medication, and in some cases insulin, to manage your blood glucose levels.

Gestational diabetes is a condition you may develop during pregnancy. It will be diagnosed with a blood test and an oral glucose tolerance test when you are between 24 and 28 weeks pregnant. Gestational diabetes can be managed with diet and exercise, although some women may require medication or insulin until the baby is born.

Gestational diabetes usually disappears after the birth, although it may increase the likelihood that you will develop type 2 diabetes later in life.

You may also have heard of pre-diabetes. If you have been diagnosed with pre-diabetes, it means your blood glucose levels and insulin levels are higher than normal – but not yet high enough for a diagnosis of type 2 diabetes. Making lifestyle changes can help slow down the progression of pre-diabetes to type 2 diabetes.

Join our community of over 45,000 people living with diabetes

ArabicChinese (Simplified)EnglishGreekHindiItalianSpanishVietnamese