صندوق أطفال السكري

مرض السكري من النوع 1 هو الحالة المزمنة الأكثر شيوعًا لدى الأطفال. في كل عام ، نصف الأطفال المصابين بالسكري من النوع الأول هم من الأطفال والمراهقين.

يمكن أن يكون تشخيص داء السكري من النوع 1 صعبًا حقًا على جميع المعنيين. يمكن أن تكون الأعراض شديدة وتظهر بسرعة ، لذلك يمكن أن يصبح الأطفال مرضى للغاية وغالبًا ما يحتاجون إلى دخول المستشفى قبل تشخيصهم. يمكن أن تكون هذه التجربة مؤلمة للطفل وآبائهم وعائلتهم وأصدقائهم. علاوة على ذلك ، يمكن لفهم وتعلم النظام الجديد المطلوب لإدارة مرض السكري كل يوم أن يجلب مستويات جديدة من الضغط على الحياة الأسرية.

مساعدة الأطفال المصابين بداء السكري من النوع 1 ليعيشوا أفضل حياتهم

من خلال صندوق Diabetes Kids Fund ، يدير Diabetes NSW & ACT فعاليات وبرامج للأطفال وأولياء أمورهم حيث يمكنهم تعلم كيفية إدارة مرض السكري لديهم بثقة وإنشاء صداقات دائمة في بيئة آمنة وداعمة.

عندما تدعم صندوق Diabetes Kids ، فإنك تساعد الأطفال المصابين بداء السكري من النوع 1 وعائلاتهم على عيش أفضل حياتهم. أطفال مثل مولي البالغة من العمر تسع سنوات ، والذين انقلب عالمهم رأساً على عقب العام الماضي عندما تم تشخيص إصابتها بداء السكري من النوع الأول.

كما تتذكر والدتها كيرستي ، "كان الأمر غير متوقع ، اعتقدت أن مولي كان يعاني من نوبة سيئة من المعدة وكان يعاني من الجفاف. أخذتها إلى المستشفى وأتوقع أن يتم ترطيبها بالتنقيط وإرسالها إلى المنزل. لكن في اللحظة التي خرقوا فيها إصبعها وظهر الرقم على الشاشة ، عرفت بالضبط ما كان عليه."

منذ ذلك اليوم ، تغيرت الحياة بشكل كبير بالنسبة لمولي وعائلتها حيث تعلموا كيفية التعامل مع تحديات العيش مع مرض السكري من النوع الأول. من إدارة مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم ، وتغيير الأنظمة الغذائية ، وحساب الكربوهيدرات ، وفهم تأثير التمارين الرياضية ، وصولًا إلى حقن الأنسولين وتغييرات مجموعة المضخات ، فقد ابتكروا روتينًا جديدًا لضمان عدم شعور مولي بالعزلة أو الاختلاف.

كما يقول Kirsty ، "إن تشخيص مرض السكري هو تحول كبير. إنه تغيير كبير ولكن يمكن إدارته بالتوجيه والدعم المناسبين. لقد كان هناك مرضى السكري من نيو ساوث ويلز ونيويورك منذ البداية. إنهم على بعد مكالمة هاتفية فقط ، والبرامج التعليمية ، وأيام DiaBuddies وشبكات الدعم التي قدموها ليس لنا فقط ، ولكن أيضًا لمعلمي ومقدمي الرعاية في مولي غيّروا بالتأكيد حياتنا للأفضل. "

يساعد دعم مرض السكري NSW و ACT في ضمان حصول الأطفال المصابين بداء السكري من النوع 1 وأسرهم على المعلومات والدعم الذي يحتاجونه لمواجهة التحديات اليومية لإدارة الحالة.

بمساعدتكم يمكننا إحداث فرق كبير - ومساعدة الأطفال المستحقين مثل مولي ليعيشوا أفضل حياتهم.

دعم صندوق مرضى السكري للأطفال

لمعرفة كيف يمكنك دعم صندوق Diabetes Kids ومساعدة الأطفال والعائلات الذين يعانون من مرض السكري من النوع 1 ، اتصل بفريق جمع التبرعات على 1300 342 238 أو البريد الإلكتروني Fundraising@diabetesnsw.com.au.

انضم إلى مجتمعنا الذي يضم أكثر من 45,000 شخص مصاب بداء السكري

Diabetes Kids Fund

Type 1 diabetes is the most common chronic condition in children. Each year half those diagnosed with type 1 diabetes are children and teens.

A diagnosis of type 1 diabetes can be really difficult for everyone involved. Symptoms can be severe and appear rapidly, so children can become extremely sick and often require hospitalisation before they are diagnosed. This experience can be traumatic for the child, their parents, family and friends. On top of this, understanding and learning the new regime required to manage diabetes every day can bring new levels of stress to family life.

Helping children with type 1 diabetes to live their best lives

Through the Diabetes Kids Fund, Diabetes NSW & ACT runs events and programs for children and their parents where they can learn how to confidently manage their diabetes and create lasting friendships in a safe and supportive environment.

When you support the Diabetes Kids Fund you help children living with type 1 diabetes and their families live their best lives. Children like nine-year-old Molly, whose world was turned upside down last year when she was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes.

As her mum Kirsty recalls, “It was so unexpected, I thought Molly was suffering from a really bad bout of gastro and was just dehydrated. I took her to the hospital expecting her to be rehydrated on a drip and sent home. But the moment they pricked her finger and the number came up on the monitor I knew exactly what it was.

Since that day, life has changed drastically for Molly and her family as they’ve learned to deal with the challenges of living with type 1 diabetes. From managing blood glucose levels, changing diets, counting carbs and understanding the impact of exercise, right through to insulin injections and pump set changes, they’ve created a new routine to ensure Molly doesn’t feel isolated or different.

As Kirsty says, “A diabetes diagnosis is a big transition. It’s a big change but it’s manageable with the right guidance and support. Diabetes NSW & ACT have been there for us from the start. They are just a phone call away and the educational programs, DiaBuddies Days and support networks they’ve provided not only for us, but also for Molly’s teachers and carers have certainly changed our lives for the better.”

Supporting Diabetes NSW & ACT helps ensure children with type 1 diabetes, and their families, get the information and support they need to take on the daily challenges of managing the condition.

With your help we can make a big difference – and help the many deserving children like Molly live their best lives.

Support the Diabetes Kids Fund

To find out how you can support the Diabetes Kids Fund and help children and families living with type 1 diabetes, contact our fundraising team on 1300 342 238 or email fundraising@diabetesnsw.com.au.

Join our community of over 45,000 people living with diabetes

ArabicChinese (Simplified)EnglishGreekHindiItalianSpanishVietnamese