كيف تساعد تبرعاتك

عندما يتبرع أشخاص طيبون مثلك لمؤسسة Diabetes NSW & ACT ، فأنت بذلك تساعد على ضمان عدم اضطرار أي شخص للتعامل مع مرض السكري وحده.

بفضل كرمك ، يمكننا تقديم دعم المناصرة والرعاية النفسية ونصائح الخبراء المحدثة للأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض السكري. كل ذلك مع تحدي التصورات العامة حول مرض السكري والبحث عن علاجات وعلاج أفضل.

الرعاية النفسية

عندما تفكر في أن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض السكري هم أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالاكتئاب بمرتين إلى ثلاث مرات من عامة الناس ، فإن الحصول على الرعاية النفسية أمر بالغ الأهمية لصحتهم ورفاهيتهم.

لهذا السبب لدينا أخصائي نفسي تحت الطلب - للأشخاص الذين يعانون أو معرضين لخطر مشكلات الصحة العقلية مثل ضائقة السكري والاكتئاب.

تقدم الخدمة الدعم النفسي المتخصص للأشخاص المصابين بداء السكري وأسرهم والقائمين على رعايتهم. يقدم الأخصائي النفسي أيضًا المشورة للمهنيين الصحيين المتحالفين مثل اختصاصيي التغذية ومعلمي مرض السكري - بما في ذلك طاقمنا - حتى يكونوا مجهزين بشكل أفضل لمساعدة مرضاهم أيضًا.

رحب تسنيا ، الذي يعاني من مرض السكري من النوع الأول ، بالخبر القائل بأن أخصائي علم النفس لدينا متاح لمساعدة الناس عبر الهاتف أو البريد الإلكتروني.

"لسوء الحظ ، لا يتوفر للمعلمين وأخصائيي التغذية الوقت للتحدث معك حول مشكلات الصحة العقلية. يمكنك أن تشعر بالوحدة. لذلك من المهم حقًا كشخص مصاب بمرض السكري أن يكون قادرًا على مراجعة طبيب نفساني بانتظام حول كيفية سير الأمور ".

دعم المناصرة

يضغط مرض السكري NSW & ACT على الحكومات للفت الانتباه إلى الحواجز التي يمكن أن يواجهها الأشخاص المصابون بالسكري في حياتهم الشخصية والتجارية.

يعمل فريق السياسة والدعوة لدينا على الشكاوى الفردية والمشاكل الشائعة التي يواجهها الأشخاص المصابون بداء السكري بشكل روتيني. على سبيل المثال ، قواعد المستشفى التي تمنع الرعاية الذاتية لمرض السكري والتي يمكن أن تعرض صحة الناس لخطر جسيم.

كانت إحدى المكالمات التي تم إجراؤها على خط المساعدة لدينا من زوج امرأة لم تتم السيطرة على مرض السكري بشكل جيد في المستشفى. اخبرنا،

لم يُسمح لها بحقن الأنسولين بنفسها. لم يتم تقديمها في الوقت المناسب. لم يتم اختبار مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم بشكل كافٍ. لقد انهارت لأنها لم تحصل على الأدوية في الوقت المحدد. لقد اضطروا إلى نقلها إلى الطوارئ ".

عندما يأتي إلينا شخص من مجتمع مرض السكري لدينا بقصص إدارة مرض السكري ، فإن ريبيكا هنريكسن ، مدير السياسة والدعوة لدينا ، هو الشخص الذي يدافع عن قضيته.

إليكم ما تقوله رفقة عن عملها وأهميته لمجتمعنا ،

"عندما يتم تشخيص شخص مصاب بمرض السكري ، يتم تشخيصه بمشكلة صحية. لكن ما يواجهونه غالبًا هو الكثير من المشكلات غير الصحية التي تحيط بداء السكري لديهم. من الصعب إدارة مرض السكري بدرجة كافية دون صعوبات إضافية تتمثل في التمييز والوصول إلى الخدمات وزيادة العقبات البيروقراطية والعزلة والتحيز. عندما يتصل بنا شخص ما بخصوص إحدى هذه المشكلات ، فإننا نساعده في حل مشكلة فردية.

ولكن ، إذا كان لدينا العديد من الأشخاص الذين يتصلون بنا بشأن نفس المشكلة ، فإننا نعلم أن هناك شيئًا خاطئًا في النظام يجعل الحياة أكثر صعوبة بالنسبة للأشخاص المصابين بمرض السكري. سنستخدم بعد ذلك تجربة هؤلاء الأشخاص لمحاولة تغيير النظام وجعل الحياة أسهل قليلاً للأشخاص الآخرين المصابين بداء السكري ".

أبحاث

تشجيع البحث العلمي

يدعم مرض السكري NSW & ACT ويطور أبحاثًا متميزة عن مرض السكري للمساعدة في إيجاد علاجات أفضل وعلاج ممكن حتى تتمكن الأجيال القادمة من العيش حياة خالية من مرض السكري ومضاعفاته.

نمنح كل عام منحًا لمجموعة من المشاريع البحثية التي تركز على الدراسات عبر مجموعة الوقاية من مرض السكري وإدارته وإيجاد علاج له.

"لا يمكن أن يحقق بحثنا تقدمًا إلا إذا تم توفير التمويل لمساعدتنا. مختبري الخاص يعتمد بشكل كامل على تمويل المنح. تبرعاتك مهمة للغاية للعثور على علاجات أفضل لمرض السكري من النوع 1 والنوع 2. بالنيابة عن جميع الباحثين عن مرض السكري ، أشكركم بصدق وأؤكد لكم أنه بدون دعمكم المستمر ، لا يمكننا أن نكتشف الاكتشافات التي ستترجم في النهاية إلى أسلوب حياة أفضل وأكثر صحة لمرضى السكري ".

الأستاذ المساعد شارمين سيميونوفيتش ، الحاصل على المنحة

دراسة مغفرة T2

أظهرت دراسة DiRECT ، الممولة من مؤسسة Diabetes UK ، وللمرة الأولى أن التعافي من مرض السكري من النوع 2 ممكن وأن النظرة طويلة الأمد لمرض السكري باعتباره "عقوبة مدى الحياة" ليست دقيقة بالضرورة.

نتائج دراسة DiRECT مشجعة للغاية وهذا هو السبب في أننا نتطلع إلى إنشاء مشروع مغفرة T2 الأسترالي. سيكون الغرض من المشروع هو إثبات أن برنامج فقدان الوزن المكثف والمدعوم يمكن أن يؤدي إلى التعافي من مرض السكري من النوع 2. يعتقد مرض السكري NSW & ACT أنه إذا تم تحقيق نفس النتائج في أستراليا كما هو الحال في المملكة المتحدة ، فسيتم تغيير علاج مرض السكري من النوع 2 والصحة على المدى الطويل في البلاد. لهذا السبب نريد إجراء الدراسة في أستراليا.

"هذا البحث الرائد له آثار كبيرة على أستراليا بالنسبة لصحة الأشخاص المصابين بداء السكري من النوع 2 والتوفير في التكاليف الذي يمكن تحقيقه ، إذا تمكنا من تكرار هذه الدراسة وتقديم نتائج قابلة للمقارنة ،" قال مدير برنامج T2 Remission Project ، إيان كورليس.

"إن تأمين التمويل اللازم لتشغيل هذا المشروع سيعطي أملًا جديدًا للأشخاص المصابين بداء السكري من النوع 2 وحياة خالية من مضاعفات مرض السكري بالنسبة للكثيرين. حتى إذا لم يتم تحقيق الهدأة ، يمكن للمشاركين الذين يفقدون الوزن أن يتوقعوا خفض ضغط الدم والكوليسترول لديهم ، ويحتاجون إلى أدوية أقل ، ويتمتعون بنوعية حياة أعلى - وكل ذلك يفيد الفرد والمجتمع والمال العام ".

تبرع اليوم لتقديم المساعدة للأشخاص المصابين بداء السكري

انضم إلى مجتمعنا الذي يضم أكثر من 45,000 شخص مصاب بداء السكري

How your donations help

When kind people like you donate to Diabetes NSW & ACT you are helping to ensure no-one has to deal with diabetes alone.

Thanks to your generosity, we can deliver advocacy support, psychological care and up to date expert advice to people living with diabetes. All while challenging public perceptions about diabetes and searching for better treatments and a cure.

Psychological care

When you consider that people living with diabetes are two to three times more likely than the general population to suffer from depression, having access to psychological care is critical to their health and wellbeing.

That’s why we have a Psychologist on Call – for people who are experiencing, or at risk of, mental health issues like diabetes distress and depression.

The service provides specialist psychological support to people living with diabetes, their families and carers. The psychologist also provides advice to allied health professionals like dietitians and diabetes educators – including our own staff – so they are better equipped to help their patients too.

Tasnia, who lives with type 1 diabetes, welcomed the news that our Psychologist on Call is on hand to help people by phone or email.

“Unfortunately, educators and dietitians don’t have the time to talk to you about your mental health issues. You can feel so alone. So it’s really important as a person with diabetes to be able to check in with a psychologist regularly about how things are going.”

Advocacy support

Diabetes NSW & ACT lobbies governments to draw attention to barriers that people living with diabetes can face in their personal and business lives.

Our policy and advocacy team works on individual complaints and common problems people living with diabetes routinely face. For example, hospital rules that prevent self-care of diabetes which can put people’s health in grave danger.

One of the calls to our Helpline was from the husband of a woman whose diabetes was not managed well in hospital. He told us,

“She wasn’t allowed to inject her own insulin. It wasn’t being given at the right time. Her blood glucose levels weren’t being tested often enough. She collapsed because she wasn’t getting her meds on time. They’ve had to rush her to emergency.”

When someone from our diabetes community comes to us with stories of diabetes management Rebekah Henricksen, our Policy and Advocacy Manager, is the person who champions their cause.

Here is what Rebekah says about her work and its importance for our community,

“When a person is diagnosed with diabetes, they are diagnosed with a health issue.  But what they are often faced with is a lot of non-health issues that surround their diabetes.  Diabetes is hard enough to manage without the additional difficulties of discrimination, access to services, increased bureaucratic hurdles, isolation, and prejudice.  When a person contacts us about one of these issues, we help them through an individual problem. 

But, if we have many people contacting us about the same issue, we know that there is something wrong in the system that is making life harder for people living with diabetes.  We will then use the experience of these people to try to change the system and make life a little bit easier for other people living with diabetes.”

Research

Research Grants

Diabetes NSW & ACT supports and develops outstanding diabetes research to help find better treatments and a possible cure so that future generations can live a life free from diabetes and its complications.

Each year we award grants to a range of research projects focused on studies across the spectrum of diabetes prevention, management and finding a cure.

“Our research can only make progress if funding is provided to help us. My own lab is totally dependent on grant funding. Your donations are absolutely critical to finding better treatments for type 1 and type 2 diabetes. On behalf of all diabetes researchers, I sincerely thank you and assure you that without your continued support, we cannot make the discoveries that will ultimately translate to a better, healthier lifestyle for people with diabetes.”

Associate Professor Charmaine Simeonovic, Grant recipient

T2 Remission Study

The DiRECT study, funded by Diabetes UK, has demonstrated for the first time that remission of type 2 diabetes is possible and the long held view of diabetes being a ‘life sentence’ isn’t necessarily accurate.

The results of the DiRECT study are extremely encouraging which is why we are looking to establish the Australian T2 Remission Project. The purpose of the project will be to demonstrate that an intensive, supported, weight loss program can lead to the remission of type 2 diabetes. Diabetes NSW & ACT believes that if the same results are achieved in Australia as in the UK, then the treatment of type 2 diabetes and the longer term health of the country will be transformed. That’s why we want to conduct the study in Australia.

“This ground-breaking research has major implications for Australia both for the health of people with type 2 diabetes and the cost savings achievable, if we can replicate this study and deliver comparable results,” said T2 Remission Project Program Director, Ian Corless.

“Securing the funding to run this project will give new hope to people living with type 2 diabetes and a life without the complications of diabetes for many. Even if remission isn’t achieved, participants who lose weight can expect to lower their blood pressure and cholesterol, need fewer medications, and enjoy a higher quality of life – all of which benefit, the individual, society and the public purse.”

Donate today to deliver assistance to people living with diabetes

Join our community of over 45,000 people living with diabetes