Diabetes Australia 2017 Research Grant Awards

Friday, 14 July 2017

On Thursday 13 July, 23 of Diabetes Australia’s Research Grants were awarded to NSW recipients for the 2017 Grant Round.

$3.3 million dollars has been provided by Diabetes Australia and the State and Territory organisations nationally for a total of 52 grants and $1.4 million has been awarded to NSW research. Leslie Williams MP, Member for Port Macquarie and Parliamentary Secretary for Regional & Rural Health who was representing the Hon Brad Hazzard, Minister for Health and Minister for Medical Research, presented the awards.

Congratulations to the following recipients. We thank you for your tireless work towards a better future for people living with diabetes.

Dr Jibran Wali, Charles Perkins Centre

Professor Trevor Biden, Garvan Institute of Medical Research

Associate Professor Ross Laybutt,Garvan Institute of Medical Research

Dr Yanchuan Shi, Garvan Institute of Medical Research

Professor Carol Pollock, Kolling Institute of Medical Research

Professor Maria Craig, University of New South Wales

Associate Professor Nigel Turner, University of New South Wales

Professor Clare Collins, University of Newcastle

Associate Professor Mitch Duncan, University of Newcastle

Dr Amanda Brandon, University of Sydney

Dr James Burchfield, University of Sydney

Associate Professor Corinne Cailaud, University of Sydney

Dr Camilla Hoyos, University of Sydney

Dr Mugdha Joglekar, University of Sydney

Dr Melkam Kebede, University of Sydney

Dr Gerald Liew, University of Sydney

Dr Yorgi Mavros, University of Sydney

Dr Craig Phillips, University of Sydney

Professor Peter Thorn, University of Sydney

Professor Stephen Twigg, University of Sydney

Professor Jenny Gunton, University of Sydney, Westmead Institute of Medical Research

Dr Kristine McGrath, University of Technology Sydney

Associate Professor Catherine Suter, Victor Change Cardiac Research Institute 


Join our community of over 45,000 people living with diabetes